Dr. Feldman named to DeJong chair

Dr. Eva Feldman was recently named the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology. The appointment, for five years beginning Oct. 21, 2004, was approved by the University of Michigan Regents. The professorship was established under Dr. DeJong who served as a Chair of Neurology for 27 years at University of Michigan until his retirement in 1977. Dr. DeJong was one of the leaders of American neurology and was founding editor of the journal Neurology. It is a befitting honor to Dr. Feldman for her outstanding scientific achievements, commitment to teaching, her active University clinical practice; her leadership and service to the Medical School, the University of Michigan and professional organizations and journals. The installation ceremony, which took place on March 16, 2005 in the Ford Amphitheatre at the University of Michigan Hospital, included Mr. Taubman, President Mary Sue Coleman, and the dean of Medical school, Dr. Allen Lichter.